Motor Vehicle Warranty Rights Act: Steps to Follow

This information is provided for new motor vehicles purchased, leased or registered in Georgia on or before December 31, 2008.

Can I proceed with a Lemon Law complaint?  Complete this checklist to see if the Lemon Law applies to you:

I am eligible as a consumer as defined in the Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs). Yes No
My new motor vehicle is eligible (as defined in the FAQs ). Yes No
I purchased, leased or registered my vehicle in the state of Georgia.  Yes No
I submitted my vehicle to the manufacturer's authorized dealer for repair of the particular defect or condition within the first 12 months of ownership or 12,000 miles of use, whichever occurred first.    Yes No
If you answered "Yes" to ALL of the above questions, you may continue.  If you answered "No" to any question, you are not eligible to proceed under the Lemon Law provisions. 

Once you have read the FAQs and you have answered "Yes" to ALL of the above questions, you are ready to begin at Step 1.  Please read each step very carefully and complete it before you proceed to the next step.

THE LEMON LAW PROCESS

Step 1.  Reasonable Number of Repair Attempts

Step 2.  Final Repair Attempt

Step 3.  Notice to Leasing Company (leased vehicles only)

Step 4.  Request for Repurchase or Replacement

Step 5.  Certified Informal Dispute Settlement Program (if applicable)

Step 6.  Eligibility for State Arbitration

Step 7.  State-Operated Arbitration

Step 8.  Appeal


If your problem appears to be corrected but resurfaces later, in most cases you will not have to start the process over from the beginning.  You may resume your complaint at the appropriate step.

If you have any questions after reading the instructions, or if you have a specific situation not described in this summary, feel free to call the Governor's Office of Consumer Protection at 404-651-9397.  However, please understand that we cannot give you legal advice or act as your private attorney.